Sectors: 1063,1064,1065,1066,1067,1068

Guernsey signs three more DTAs

10 April 2014

Guernsey has completed three further bilateral Double Taxation Arrangements (DTAs).

The agreements with Mauritius, the Seychelles and Monaco mean that Guernsey has now signed a total of 11 comprehensive DTAs.*

Guernsey's Treasury and Resources Minister, Gavin St Pier, signed an agreement with the Republic of the Seychelles in London on 27 January 2014. The Agreement was co-signed with the High Commissioner for the Seychelles, HE Ms Marie-Pierre Lloyd.

The Treasury and Resources Minister said: "Since 2011, Guernsey has worked closely with member states of the Southern African Development Community to support those countries' ability to protect their tax revenue. These two DTAs are further illustration of that work, which is in line with the development aims of many organisations, not least the G8 and the OECD."

Guernsey's Minister for Commerce and Employment, Kevin Stewart, signed an agreement with the Republic of Mauritius in London on 17 December 2014. The Agreement was co-signed with the High Commissioner for Mauritius, HE Mr A. Kundasamy.

The Commerce and Employment Minister said: "Our links with countries such as Mauritius and the Seychelles are important. Not only do they have growing finance centres, but also island jurisdictions with whom we share many challenges, and can exchange expertise. Both jurisdictions complimented us on our tax transparency leadership. We reiterated our message that transparency has strengthened our competitiveness."

Guernsey's Chief Minister, Jonathan Le Tocq, signed the DTA with Monaco on 7 April 2014.

Back to News
Download Find a related practitioner